Reaping the Word of God

I am not sure when it started. I think it was at a young age. Looking back at it now it is rather intriguing to me to see the power of God through real life things as well as by the power of His Holy Spirit.

I love scripture. I love the Word of God. Don’t get me wrong, there are days I have to force myself to read. There are days I refuse to and there are days I don’t think about it. But, I would say from a young age God has placed this love, respect, hunger and longing to meet intimately with Him through scripture and to abide in the training and correction it gives.

There was one time I took a little neighbor friend to a “hidden” place on the farm my dad works at. I took my first bible with me in hopes to share something with her. I couldn’t have been more than kindergartener or first grader. As we were sitting in the corner on gravel with the smell of harvest and corn around us we opened up this sweet little treasure for me to share something with her. I have no idea what I shared with her although I can vividly see the scene in my mind.

In junior high and high school I would go to my room and spend several hours in the evening reading my bible. I promise….I wasn’t that nerdy kid, there was just something there and I wanted more.  Today it is the same. I find myself unbalanced or missing something when I haven’t met with God through scripture. There are many other ways I meet with God but this is the primary way I gain strength, hear His voice and speak into the lives of others.

The Word of God is an amazing thing. The power is not easily understood or even felt. I often feel like something mystical is happening in and around me through the power of God’s Word.  It isn’t mystical…it says itself that it is alive and active.  The power of God Himself is in those words and the Holy Spirit works and moves out of what we read.

In this season of life I find myself having to fight. Fight hard for the truths I know to combat the lies I hear.  This morning I came across a verse that says this. “2 Chronicles 9:6 My point is this: The person who sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and the person who sows generously will also reap generously.”

The Word of God is faithful. We do the things inside of it for a reason. Not simply to be good or righteous or even just because it says so but rather because we believe there is something behind those words. We trust that what scripture says will be. There is power, there is meaning, there is purpose. When I read the scripture above I believe that if I choose to sow generously that in fact I WILL reap generously. There are no specifics as to how, when and why but I trust it at its word through the faith God grants me by the power of the Holy Spirit. This God granted faith is wielded into one’s spirit through the reading of the scripture. It is a continuous giving cycle.

So, dear friends, please engage. Grow in faith by the power of God through scripture. If it feels too big of a task, start small. We will all find ourselves at this place time and time again. Start by looking at one verse a week. I promise, your hunger will grow. I promise what you sow you will reap.  If you find in the scripture teachings or trainings or correction pray for strength and trust and faith and the power of God to reside over you to follow through. Scripture guides and gives. You can trust it for what it says.  I only have 28 years of life to vouch for this but I am sure in another 28 years I will write this same post with more life experience and with a greater conviction.  So to God who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think according to the power at work within us, to him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen. (Ephesians 3:20-21 ESV)

(**Tell me, what stories do you have where you have seen scripture be true to its word?)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Reaping the Word of God

  1. Nana

    Ashley, You amaze me. This is what I needed today. Thank you. Love you, Nana

Leave a Reply

