Self Awareness

One of my co workers reads My Utmost for His Hightest daily. I love that she is being poured into morning by morning! She is a delight and joy:) Knowing she read it I asked her what she learned this morning. It started a great little email chain between us and another one of our co workers!  Go read it for yourself:) Make sure you read August 19th.

My thoughts:

This spoke to me a lot today as I have really struggled this week with falling into unhealthy self examination. Rather than coming fully to Jesus I let my thoughts and managing/control techniques run wild. I like where it said. “Self-awareness is the first thing that will upset the completeness of our life in God, and self-awareness continually produces a sense of struggling and turmoil in our lives.” I feel like I know that turmoil all to well this week. But I love the grace that Oswald brings in by saying self awareness isn’t sin; rather it is healthy to examine things that separate us from oneness with Christ. That we can be self aware and run to Jesus and bring it all to him. Kind of cheesy…but I like it when he says that instead of being self aware be Christ-aware.

 How can one man have such bold one liners that are so intense in such a short excerpt for all days of the year!?! I am thankful for my workplace and my co-workers, but most of all the God that stirrs individually!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

