Missions & My Life…Part 1

To quote my church: “Missions is more than just a one-time event or an experience; rather missions is a lifestyle. This means that in our homes, neighborhoods, schools, work places and in every other area of our lives we are to carry ourselves as ministers of reconciliation.”

 

(this is my S. Dallas neighbor Willy when he was helping me move in.

Don’t judge that I let him wear my Corona hat…)

This is explained in 2 Corinthians 5:18-20. I also want to include 2 Corinthians 5:13-15 to explain the compelling nature of missions. V13-15) If we are out of our mind, as some say, it is for God; if we are in our right mind, it is for you. For Christ’s love compels us, because we are convinced that one died for all, and therefore all died for them and was raised again. V 18-20) All this is from God, who through Christ reconciled us to himself and gave us the ministry of reconciliation; that is, in Christ God was reconciling the world to himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and entrusting to us the message of reconciliation. Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, God making his appeal through us. We implore you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God.

 

(Audrey (shout out!!!) in the background was one of my trip participants on a Buckner trip to Guatemala in June…this is little Melanie…I told her story in a recent post)

 

This is my heart…this is what makes it beat faster….this is what causes me to go to my knees to ask God for things in order for him to receive Glory. We are to be the best of who we are for the glory of God and the sake of people being enlightened by and to Christ. For me, this has looked different over the years (note the varied pictures throughout the post). 

 

(This is Andrea from my recent Buckner trip to Guatemala.  My sweet, sweet Amiga. It’s amazing how you feel so connected after you realize you didn’t speak a bit of the same language throughout the week. Although, this sweet girl is learning English by reading her Spanish/English Bible. Pray that as she is teaching herself English the words of scripture would bury themselves deep within her soul and that Christ would bring her to true Salvation)

Last Tuesday morning I ran into a youth pastor that brought his youth group to S. Dallas for a mission trip. I am so thankful to see Youth Pastors engage in the immediate world around them (he was from just an hour away) and not try to “sell” mission trips or pick the most popular mission trip for the sake of getting kids to go. Thank you FBC Justin for setting that example for your kids. Through the course of our conversation he followed up with me to see if my roommate and I would come and speak to his youth group one evening before their trip was over. He said he would just love to hear our testimonies and how we came to S. Dallas. It was such an encouragement to hear the students and youth leaders engage in our stories as well as the S. Dallas culture and people.

 

(This is a little special needs girl at a government ran orphanage in Guatemala for the Buckner trip I went on in February).

My time with FBC Justin youth group really brought me to such thanksgiving to the Lord for the journey He has walked me in throughout the course of my 27 years of life! In the next couple of posts I will bring forth the story of God and Christ in my life. I told the kids that as they listened to my story they needed to realize this was not a story about me. This was not an equation of how to do ministry. This was a story of Christ’s amazing redemption in my life and how that affects the world around me. It is a story of a loving, just God and how He interacts in the world today, historically and in the future. Praise God this isn’t about me. If it was, it would be a story of failure, sin, heartache, disobedience and self-gratification. But, because of God’s redemption it is a story of dead person coming alive through the power of Christ’s blood and the revelation through the Holy Spirit because of God’s great love. It is a story of love that compels and drives all things. It is a story that highlights God’s movement rather than my own. I am thankful He allows me to be a part of it and redeems what was dead.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

