A Love that Compels!

Some would say (ok, most would say) the past five years have looked a little crazy for me.  I have lived in two countries, three states, made sixteen moves and had six jobs.  The most amazing thing in this is that although I am sure sin was in the mix of that, the root and essence of each one of those changes was to get more of Jesus and to push forward the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  Luckily for me (and some of my readers…eh-hem…parents and grandparents) life is starting to not change so often and I feel a rhythm and consistency.  I am in a job that I LOVE. Even in lots of moves I have lived in Dallas for four years and love it!  I am a part of a church that brings about amazing change and transformation and offers so many opportunities to serve and walk in deep community. With my job I get to wake up every day and have some small, small role in helping make the life of others better. I also just moved into a neighborhood of Dallas I hope to invest in for quite some time.  I  know where you live and what you do don’t define who you are, rather Christ defines that…but my life stage and calling for this season of life has a strong emphasis on what I do and where I live.  I received an email that had the verses below. I immediately thought about the crazy five years I have lived and felt so much joy knowing that because Christ saved me I can live a life that may appear that I am out of my mind sometimes!  I am so thankful that Jesus died for all and for some reason that old truth can be so powerful in my soul. It is my desire to live a life not for myself but for Him who died for me and is coming again for me. So, praise God for no more changes and praise God for more changes. May my heart be stirred for him alone. May I surrender to his moment by moment calling in my life. May the anointing of the Spirit pour out over my life.

If we are “out of our mind,” as some say, it is for God; if we are in our right mind, it is for you.  For Christ’s love compels us, because we are convinced that one died for all, and therefore all died.  And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again.

2 Corinthians 5:13-15 NIV

Thankful that a small five days of the last five years were spent with this special one. She was an orphan that I met on one of my recent trips. She is nine years old and is being transformed by the love of Christ through people. When she lived with her family she was beaten if she did not bring home $3 every day. Praise God for his rescue, pray that he would save her soul, pray that she would receive the compelling love of Christ.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Love that Compels!

  1. Phyllis Nichols

    Enjoyed your words and especially the light you put in little Melanie’s eyes.

  2. Audrey Ballinger

    🙂 I am now one of your subscribed readers! This is an adorable picture of Miss Melanie! I miss you Ashley! thank you so much for being a bright candle in my life through the 8 amazing days we spent together!

Leave a Reply

