Ethiopia Summary // Day 3

Friday, July 23rd  //  Discovering Addis…well, a strip of it!

My first thought when I woke up that morning was, Man…if I had to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night last night, I will have to do that out in the bush.  My second though was, Man…we will have to go outside…with the baboons.  Again…you will have to stay tuned in the upcoming blog posts:)

I didn’t hear it but a lot of our team woke up early in the morning to the Muslin call to prayer.  AT 7:15 a.m. sharp…and I mean sharp the breakfast bell rang.  The SIM Guest House had a cook and he walked around ringing his bell!  They told us he was really prompt…and that was true.  He must have been influenced by the west.  We had fresh papaya and watermelon with oatmeal and a muffin.  I think they were easing our stomachs into the injera!  And of course we had coffee!  The coffee is really amazing!!!  All of the tables were set so nicely for us and all had fresh flowers!

After breakfast we had a little mini orientation with the Smiths.  They are a really awesome couple and family!  We then went shopping at the markets!  I somehow was in charge of exchanging everyone’s money.  Thank goodness a few others came along!

They money is called Birr.  The exchange rate was 13.47 to 1 US dollar.  The markets were fun to go to.  It reminded me so much of my time in Kosovo, or maybe the back streets of Athens.  I ended up with some really great buys!  I can’t wait to host with my new coffee set.  AND I bought a nativity set!  How awesome is that!

We were back for lunch. Again…the cook was hilarious.  We would be finished and he would come and ask for more.  As you said no he would pile and pile more food on your plate.  It isn’t funny typing it, but I promise you, it was hysterical then!  Later that afternoon we all stocked up on coffee and spent more time with the Smiths.  That evening we went to a local pizza place!  I really enjoyed getting to know everyone a little more on a personal level this day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

