I’m a Career Woman….

….LOVING it!

If you would have asked me the past year and a half about what kind of job I wanted…I would simply reply that I didn’t want one:-)  All I wanted to do was stay at home and volunteer at different places.  Still a desire for one day…but for now…I am a career woman and enjoying every moment of it!  I am so thankful for my time off to search out exactly what God had in store for my career. 

I started my new job on Monday.  I am helping start a Marketing Department for a local Landscaping Company.  It is a small business that started by two Dallasites that has grown tremendously over the past year and a half.  They have gradually been making hires…me being one of them.  It is a complete change from student ministry; and I am loving every minute of it:-)

I am one of two women in the office, the other an upper 40 year old woman.  Today she spent time telling me how to “reply” and “reply all” on emails.  O and also how to “forward” the emails.  I just smiled and acted engaged:-)  She has been really great though and is teaching me tons of the accounting side of the business.  The rest of the office are men…about six of them.  People are always in and out and it is a super laid back environment…but fast paced.  O…and I am learning that the “F” word is used as frequent as “the” “a” “and” and so on.  Profanity is frequent…and I mean frequent.  But for some reason I love it:-) 

One of our clients is a Dallas Cowboy!!!!  I think I have talked to him on the phone about five or six times now (not that I am counting…or smiling)!  I wish I could ask him what the heck happened this year…what he thinks about the new special teams coach and if he is happy Pack Man Jones is released!

I am not sure I love the 8-5 thing…it makes for a long day.  But the fact that I can leave work at work and not think about it at all makes a world of difference!  I am loving having my nights open and my weekends.  I am getting involved in a church and trying out several different home groups with girls in a similiar life stage.  That will be awesome to make some friends.

The thing I love the most is not being around Christians all day long.  I am praying for opporunities to speak Christ into this work environment.  Suprisingly (or not) several convos were opened just today.  I feel like I am getting to live a side of life I lived in Switzerland…something I have longed for.  And by that I mean there is more intentionality when spending time with people that haven’t experienced the Lords saving Grace….right or wrong; that is just how I feel.

ANYWAY….I am glad it is Friday tomorrow!  I need some rest…I have been on the go  a lot this week!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “I’m a Career Woman….

  1. Mom

    Can you “hear” me smiling all the way from Nebraska…so happy that you are happy!!!

  2. ash…it sounds like you love it so much! even though i wish the job was in houston, i am so proud of you, and i totally understand the way you love being around non-christians. i don’t think it sounds weird at all…it something i have wanted recently as well. at least when they act horribly unchristian, it is because they ARE unchristian!!! anyways, i am super excited for you, and i can’t wait to hear all about it. fyi…when i tagged “ashley” in the photo tag, it was you. i should have put marbes or shlee, but i forgot! love you!

  3. Nana

    Congrats!!! We are so happy for you. We know you will be a great witness to your co-workers. Sounds like they need it.

  4. thatgirlkate

    Yay!!! Congratulations, Ashley! I’m so happy you found something that you are excited about. 🙂

Leave a Reply

