Communicating this…

Communicating my time in Switzerland has been so hard. I was talking about it with a friend the other day who spent time overseas as well. I don’t think people understand how big of a deal it is in the life of an individual to leave any and everything that is familiar to put life as you know it on hold. It forever changed me but no one in my daily life was there…so there is a missed connection…and that has been hard and made the grieving process difficult. I am thankful for people in my life with the same experience. I almost feel like it is trying to communicate to someone that is in a happy, God honoring, God centered marriage that you are going through a divorce. Or trying to gain sympathy from that same couple when your spouse dies. The experience stays with you your whole life, changes you to the core, you don’t know how to deal with it let alone communicate it. It only effects those around you for weeks or maybe if you are lucky months. Kind of like marriage and death. My questions are “how do you stay connected with the experience in a healthy way but allow for grief to take place?” Also, something big has happened in my life that i want to talk about but I don’t know how to tell people about it…especially when “living in Switzerland” may seem “flashy” to some. I don’t know…just some things I am working through!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Communicating this…

  1. joy

    I know how you feel. After 5 years away I’m totally an alien here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

