purpose…calling???

When I was in high school I started praying for “my purpose.”  I don’t even remember who encouraged me to do so…but I remember it was encouraged by someone at my church.  I am so glad I started to do that at a young age!  But now in the mid 20’s everything get’s blurry!  What do you stay true to?  Your passions, your desires, your convictions, your ethics…because I am not sure they all align!?!?  Maybe they do!!!!  I am an optomist so I will assume they do.  Either way I am at a cross roads in life (I think life in your 20’s brings about many cross roads) and once again have to ponder this question.

[And just to say…I don’t feel like I have a “vocational calling.”  Is this a biblical thing or something I have heard all my life that I needed???  For real…someone help me out!  Actually I don’t think that I heard it until I entered the baptist world in Oklahoma.  I am not sure!  I do feel like I have purpose…I know in a round about way what I am made for and to quote John Piper; “…that I have a passion for God’s glory and that I have a passion for my joy in that glory, and that these two are one passion.”  Read Desiring God by Piper if you haven’t had a chance!  I am reading Don’t Waste Your Life at the current time.  It’s been good…o so good!]

A friend forwarded me this…I like!

Trying To Find a Cause
Have you ever doubted your purpose in life? Have you ever thought, “What am I supposed to be doing?” Or why am I here? Why don’t I have a mission in life?

I have, with increasing intensity these last two weeks. I’ve been wrestling with the question, “What’s next God?” I’ve been reading books about purpose and listening to great sermons like Craig Groeschel’s “Warrior” series. I started asking God, “What do you want me to do? What would you have me do for you? What did you put me on this earth for? What is my cause?”

I wanted him to tell me to start a ministry or be a spiritual warrior in faraway lands on a faraway adventure. I wanted him to give me a big cause so that I could do big things for him in big ways. But last Monday, in the midst of working through the weight and burden of feeling like I didn’t have a cause, I felt like God reminded me that he doesn’t think like I do. Maybe, when he hears me crying out for a cause, when he hears me asking him to transform me into a spiritual warrior, he wants to cry back:

“You want to be a warrior? Be a warrior of need and surrender. Make fighting for a relationship with me your greatest cause and see what other causes come out of that. See what other causes I put in your path. I can bring you adventures, but those things are small. Those are tiny compared to the cause of surrendering your heart and soul to me. That’s your cause right now. Daily, hourly surrender of your heart and soul to me. You are on an adventure, make no mistake, but the real adventure, the big one that I cheer loudest about from the bleachers of heaven is for your heart. The adventure that begins every morning. That is the adventure I care about. Don’t miss that one.”

And I do, I miss it all the time because I focus on “what’s next” instead of “what’s now.” I get so lost thinking I need to “do something for him” instead of “be in a relationship with him.” Like it says in Revelation 2:4, I forsake my first love. Repentance. Forgiveness. A minute by minute, all consuming need for God.

I don’t want to miss that adventure. I don’t want you to miss it either. God has big, crazy things planned for all of us. But the biggest adventure, the greatest cause, the grandest purpose, is the one that starts in our heart.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

