A Blessed Morning

Have you ever been in the middle of something, knowing full well it is the exact place, spot, situation, stage you are suppose to be in…but the catch is you couldn’t wait to get out? It isn’t the typical, “not living in the moment,” thing or “just enjoy where you are because when you are not here you will wish you were back”….it is different and I can’t really explain it. I do love this life stage….young, single, my own place, my own dog, a great job…the list could go on. I couldn’t wait to move to Dallas, live alone and start brand new life…and finally (because I had been praying for it for like four years and it was postponed a year for Switzerland) I am here…and LOVE that God has answered my prayers and is blessing me in the situation. But it is hard. It is lonely, there are struggles, it is expensive, every mistake counts, every reward counts. It is kind of like a survival of the fittest type thing. No?

As I read back over that… I do realize that I am fabricating a bit…I would love to be in a new stage of life like marriage, or a close knit community of friends etc.; but am loving this life stage too. Like sometimes I look up and realize that I am living life exactly how I want. For instance…when I was in Switzerland the Lord gave me a vision for a hospitality ministry out of my home. I can see it playing out. I have been able to have people in and out of my home; minister to them, pray for them, encourage them…it has been simply amazing! I love seeing the plans of the Lord play out in front of me.

I can also see how this stage of life is preparing me and enhancing my hospitality ministry (I see it being more than just having people in and out of my home….one day). Working underneath of my dear friend Jason I have learned so much about discipleship. I know God is calling me to bring hospitality and discipleship together…and I couldn’t be more excited. He has also used this time to grow a heart for Africa (Eak…I can’t wait to see what unfolds!)

All of that to say, the other morning I started my day at 4:23am…yes A.M. I had no idea why! I couldn’t fall back asleep. I could tell that God was drawing me in and so I just started to pray for people that were crossing my mind…a co-worker; a new friend that just aborted her twins, my brother…and I put on my itunes and this song came on…the words were so reassuring to me during this stage of life! So I got up and went to watch the sunrise…come to find out the place I chose wasn’t a great place to watch the sun rise…but none the less it was a blessed and intimate morning with my Savior.

Be blessed today!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “A Blessed Morning

  1. Mom

    I love that you blog. It makes me feel like I get to peek into a private side of you. It does a mom’s heart good to see her children living to bring glory to God. You make me proud….awwwh shucks! I hope I havent embarrassed you.

  2. Ashley! Good to hear from you! I’m getting married September 6th, and I’m so excited. Thanks for passing on the blogsite to me, and I enjoy reading when you update. I’m in Arlington all summer, so I hope that we can run into each other at some point.

  3. Joy

    Hey Ashley! You commented on my blog! It’s so fun to see your blog and hear your voice as I read your words. I’m so thankful that we met and our friends. I love what you’re learning and it’s neat to see your heart grow for the suffering of the world. I am excited to see what God has in store for you friend!
    love
    Joy
    ps. you need to post more often it seems. 🙂

  4. i love that song … and if you read the lyrics, i love how it talks about the fact that it might be beautiful and it might not be … but either way, it’s a new day.

    (and it’s funny that your sunrise wasn’t actually all that beautiful. ha)

    i have a friend who just started a series of blogs on the “it” factor …. how we’re always chasing after “it.” sometimes when we don’t even know what “it” is. you might be interested.

    jimmymccarty.theworldrace.org

    love you.

  5. Hi Ashley,

    I am friends with Sneds and found your blog under her comments. I think we may have met many years ago??? I enjoyed your blog. Love the RLC. We are adopting baby “k” from Korea and will be finding them very soon, hoping to have them home by Thanksgiving/Christmas. God placed adoption in our hearts many years ago, just like he has placed it in yours. It took 10 years to come to fruition but finally we are getting there.

    Thanks for giving us a glimpse into your life.

  6. Ok, you could still have throat cancer. It doesnt come up right away:)

    Yes, my blog plays music. Scared the crap out of me the first time I got on someone elses blog and it was playing music then I decided I kind of liked it.

    Do you want to go to the dog park this Friday?!?!?!?! I have a dr. appointment at 10:30 but could go after that.

Leave a Reply

